Guideline influence

Many of our study results and recommendations have been implemented in European Union directives and guidelines. This applies to:

MAH representative list in package inserts no longer required

PAINT-Consult has for many years now recommended the deletion of the MAH representative list for many years now, as this information is less important and contributes up to 25 % of the package insert volume. Examples of our input include the following publications:

  • readability test study of the QRD template and a shorter model template (PDF)
  • PAINT1 study (PDF)
  • study of the importance of package insert information (PDF)

The EMA has stated that this list is no longer essential according to EU legislation. The QRD template has already been amended. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require any further information.

The written readability test method - developed by PAINT-Consult

In its position paper from February 2011, the CMDh once again recommended PAINT-Consult's written readability test method as an alternative to the Australian interview method in its position paper from February 2011 (PDF).

Further examples of official recognition by European medicines agencies of the written readability test, as used and developed by PAINT-Consult, are: the British medicine agency MHRA (PDF) and the German medicine agency BfArM (PDF).

Pharmacovigilance project

The European Commission (PDF) informed PAINT-Consult that it would like to take the ideas and results published in our article in the Drug Information Journal (2010), "The way forward in package insert user tests from a CRO's perspective" into consideration (PDF, see chapter discussion and the following page).

In September 2010, in accordance with PAINT-Consult’s recommendations, the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union rejected the summary box for the most essential information in package inserts and the emphasising of new information (PDF). Both of which formed part of the pharmacovigilance proposal (PDF, see page 25).

9pt as minimum font size in package inserts

In the readability guideline (PDF) the European Commission stipulated a minimum font size of 9pt as recommended by PAINT-Consult (PDF), instead of the previously recommended 12 to 20pt (PDF).

Side effect frequency explanations

The frequency explanations of side effects in package inserts, which were developed and tested in the PAINT1 study, received the recommendation of the EMA and various patients' organisations in September 2007 (PDF, see page 4).

The BfArM has recommended these frequency explanations, as developed by PAINT-Consult, since April 2007 (PDF).

Order of information

A new sequence of information within package inserts for the European Union was published in Directive 2004/27/EC, article 59 (PDF). This largely corresponds to our recommendations based on the study with 855 patients in 2001 (PDF).

The results of PAINT-Consult's 2005 study, with 219 healthcare professionals, prove that this new order has significantly optimised package inserts (PDF).

Last update: 30.10.2018

  Contact
  +49 3641 549396

Guideline-Einfluss

Eine Vielzahl unserer Forschungsergebnisse und Empfehlungen wurden in Direktiven und Guidelines der Europäischen Union umgesetzt. Dies betrifft:

Liste der MAH-Niederlassungen in Packungsbeilagen nicht mehr notwendig

PAINT-Consult hat sich seit vielen Jahren für die Löschung der MAH-Niederlassungsliste in Packungsbeilagen zentral zugelassener Arzneimittel eingesetzt, da diese wenig wichtige Information bis zu 25 % der Packungsbeilagen einnimmt. Beispiele unserer Initiative sind folgende Publikationen:

  • Lesbarkeitsteststudie des QRD-Templates und eines kürzeren Modelltemplates (PDF)
  • PAINT1-Studie (PDF)
  • Studie zur Bedeutung der Inhalte von Packungsbeilagen (PDF)

Die EMA hat erklärt, dass sie diese Liste entsprechend der derzeitigen EU-Legislative nicht mehr für essentiell einstuft. Eine Anpassung des QRD-Templates ist bereits erfolgt. Für weitere Informationen stehen wir Ihnen gern zur Verfügung (Kontakt).

Schriftlicher Lesbarkeitstest - von PAINT-Consult entwickelt

In ihrem Positionspapier vom Februar 2011 weist die CMDh-Gruppe den schriftlichen Lesbarkeitstest von PAINT-Consult erneut als Alternative zur australischen Interviewmethode aus (PDF).
Weitere Beispiele zur behördlichen Anerkennung des schriftlichen Lesbarkeitstestes von PAINT-Consult durch europäische Zulassungsbehörden sind: MHRA (PDF) bzw. BfArM (PDF).

Pharmakovigilanz-Projekt

Die Europäische Kommission informiert PAINT-Consult (PDF), dass sie unsere im Drug Information Journal im Jahr 2010 veröffentlichten Ideen und Ergebnisse der Publikation "The way forward in package insert user tests from a CRO's perspective" berücksichtigen möchte (PDF, siehe Kapitel Diskussion und Folgeseite).

Das Europäische Parlament und der EU-Ministerrat lehnten die Aufnahme einer Zusammenfassung der wichtigsten Informationen der Packungsbeilage (Summary box) und die Kennzeichnung neuer Informationen entsprechend den Empfehlungen von PAINT-Consult ab. Beides war Bestandteil des Pharmakovigilanz-Entwurfs (PDF, Seite 25).

9 pt Schriftgröße in Packungsbeilagen

Die Europäische Kommission setzt in der Readability-Guideline (PDF) die von PAINT-Consult vorgeschlagene Mindestschriftgröße von 9 pt (PDF) anstatt den ursprünglich vorgesehenen 12 bis 20 pt (PDF) um. Die Basis hierfür bildet die im Mai 2008 publizierte Schriftgrößenstudie von PAINT-Consult.

Häufigkeitsangaben von Nebenwirkungen

Durch die EMA und Patientenorganisationen wurden ab September 2007 (PDF, siehe Seite 4) die in der PAINT1-Studie entwickelten und geprüften Häufigkeitsangaben von Nebenwirkungen in Packungsbeilagen empfohlen.

Das BfArM empfahl diese von PAINT-Consult entwickelten Häufigkeitsangaben bereits ab April 2007 (PDF).

Reihenfolge der Gliederung

Mit der Direktive 2004/27/EG, Artikel 59 (PDF) wurde eine neue Reihenfolge der Gliederung in Packungsbeilagen innerhalb der Europäischen Union festgelegt. Diese entspricht weitestgehend unserem Vorschlag auf Basis der 2001 durchgeführten Befragung von 855 Patienten (PDF).

2005 konnte PAINT-Consult durch die Ergebnisse der Fachkräftebefragung (n = 219) bestätigen (PDF), dass diese neue Gliederung die Packungsbeilagen bedeutend verbessert.

Letzte Änderung: 07.11.2017

  Kontakt
  +49 3641 549396